Golf British Open

2017 Open Championship at Royal Birkdale Golf Club

Like so many grand golf clubs in the British Isles, Birkdale Golf Club was built in the 19th century. It is considered to be the best links course in the United Kingdom and has hosted the Open nine times since being awarded its "Royal" title by King George VI in 1951.

The North West coast line lends itself perfectly with a large dune system making for natural golf links and is termed the Golf Coast by the North West Tourism office. Out of the nine Golf courses that share the Royal status in the UK, Royal Lytham, Royal Birkdale and Royal Liverpool are within a few miles of each other.

The Open--The Worlds Top Major Title--The Best Links Course in England

No British player has ever won the Open at Royal Birkdale, it has been the realm of America having won over half of the Royal Birkdale Open Championships. Names like O`Meara, Watson, Miller, Trevino and Palmer roll off the tongue as Champions, with the Southern Irish champion Harrington and Australians Baker-Finch and Peter Thompson all winners at the Royal Birkdale Open Championship.

The Royal Birkdale Links has hosted many classic tournaments and is famous for the Ryder Cup comment of Jack Nicklaus when Tony Jacklin would tie the match on the 18th green with a three-foot putt for a half, when Nicklaus conceded the putt they tied 16-16, he picked up Jacklins marker and said: "I don`t think you would have missed that putt Tony, but in the circumstances I would never give you the opportunity."

Back to top

Show Packages


Friday 1-Day
*Champions VIP Club [+]   $685.00
*VIP Pavilion Club [+]   $1,585.00
Saturday 1-Day
*Champions VIP Club [+]   $685.00
*VIP Pavilion Club [+]   $1,415.00
Saturday/Sunday 2-Day
*VIP 1860 Club [+]   $1,730.00
Sunday 1-Day Tickets
*Champions VIP Club [+]   $685.00
*VIP Pavilion Club [+]   $1,415.00

* indicates ticket is on request
- Tickets are not included with your hotel package and are offered separately as there is usually a choice.
- Additional charges apply if tickets are purchased without accommodations. Please contact our office for details and for race ticket only sales.
- Additional options that are not listed here may be available.
- All prices are quoted in U.S. dollars.

Back to top

Show Packages


The Open
The Open is the oldest major championships in golf and was first played on the 17th October 1860 at Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland. The inaugural tournament was a very Scottish affair with only eight professionals playing three rounds on the twelve-hole Prestwick Golf Links. During the first ten years the winner took home a red-leather Challenge Belt with a silver buckle. It was retired in 1870 after young Tom Morris had won the belt three consecutive times and he was allowed to keep it. From 1871 the Open was administered by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews.

As the Open grew in importance the 1873 Open championship was moved away from Prestwick to the home of golf at St Andrews where they introduced the Claret Jug trophy for the champion. Some 20 years later the Open was played for the first time outside Scotland at the Royal St George`s Golf Club in Sandwich on the coast of Kent. The Scots had won every Open for the first thirty years.

By 1920 it attracted professionals from all over the world. In the twenties and early thirties American professionals won twelve of the fourteen Open championships with the English winning the next six before WWII started. At the end of hostilities Sam Snead won the first post war Open with a prize of 150 UK Pounds in 1946. Over the past seventy years the Open has gone from strength to strength and is the most prestigious golf tournament in the world, with prize money in excess of one million UK Pounds to the champion.

It is the golf tournament that every golf professional wants on their resume

Back to top

Show Packages

Race Information

Motorsport Tours

2017 Mexico Grand Prix

2017 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

2018 Daytona 500

2018 Australian Grand Prix

2018 Chinese Grand Prix

2018 Azerbaijan Grand Prix

2018 Spanish Grand Prix

2018 Monaco Grand Prix

2018 Indy 500

2018 Moto GP Mugello

2018 Canadian Grand Prix

2018 Le Mans 24 Hours

2018 French Grand Prix

2018 Festival of Speed

2018 Austrian Grand Prix

2018 British Grand Prix

2018 German Grand Prix

2018 Hungarian Grand Prix

2018 Belgian Grand Prix

2018 Italian Extravaganza

2018 Italian Grand Prix

2018 Goodwood Revival

2018 Singapore Grand Prix